Upcoming Events By year

« 2015 »

End-of-Year Event

Mon May 11, 2015 6:30PM - 10:00PM Four Winds Field, South Bend

This is a fun farewell event for the Center's fellows. We will gather in the Home Plate Suite for a casual buffet dinner and watch a South Bend Cubs baseball game.…

Welcome Party

Thu Aug 27, 2015 5:00PM - 8:00PM

All Center fellows and visitors and their families are welcome. Details forthcoming.…

Pub Night

Thu Sep 3, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM TBA

Hang out with philosophers at Granite City Food & Brewery at University Park Mall. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.…

Welcome Reception

Fri Sep 4, 2015 9:00AM - 10:00AM Malloy Hall - 4th Floor

Welcome reception for the fellows and visitors of the Center with members of the Philosophy and Theology departments.…

Pub Night

Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM LaSalle Kitchen & Tavern

Hang out with philosophers at LaSalle Kitchen & Tavern in downtown South Bend. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.…

Discussion Group

Fri Sep 11, 2015 10:00AM - 11:30AM 220 Malloy Hall

The group will discuss "Religious Disagreement and Epistemic Intuition" by Michael Bergmann.…

Pub Night

Thu Sep 24, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM TBA

Hang out with philosophers at Evil Czech Brewery in Mishawaka. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.…

Discussion Group

Fri Sep 25, 2015 10:00AM - 11:30AM 220 Malloy Hall

The group will discuss "Empiricism and Epistemic Scope in Aquinas: What Do We Know concerning Incorporeal Objects?" by Therese Cory.…

Pub Night

Thu Oct 1, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM TBA

Hang out with philosophers at Fiddler's Hearth in downtown South Bend. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.…

Discussion Group

Fri Oct 2, 2015 10:00AM - 11:30AM 220 Malloy Hall

The group will discuss "Leibniz and the Foundations of Physics: The Later Years" by Jeffrey McDonough.…

Pub Night

Thu Oct 8, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM TBA

Hang out with philosophers at Rocky River Tap & Table in Granger. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.…

Discussion Group

Fri Oct 9, 2015 10:00AM - 11:30AM 220 Malloy Hall

The group will discuss "Divine Hiddenness or Dark Intimacy?: How John of the Cross Dissolves a Contemporary Philosophical Dilemma" by Sarah Coakley.…

Pub Night

Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM TBA

Hang out with philosophers at Scotty's Brewhouse in Mishawaka. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.…

Discussion Group

Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:00AM - 11:30AM 220 Malloy Hall

The group will discuss "A Naturalistic Intrinsic Value Theodicy" by Scott Davison.…

Discussion Group

Fri Oct 23, 2015 220 Malloy Hall

No discussion group meeting due to fall break.…

Pub Night

Thu Oct 29, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM

No Pub Night this week.…

Discussion Group

Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:00AM - 11:30AM 220 Malloy Hall

The group will discuss "God and the Attributes" by Michael Rea.…

Pub Night

Thu Nov 5, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM Iechyd Da Brewing Company

Hang out with philosophers at Iechyd Da Brewing Company in Elkhart. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.…

Pub Night

Thu Nov 12, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM

No Pub Night this week due to the "Food for Thought" lecture.…

Discussion Group

Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:00AM - 11:30AM 220 Malloy Hall

The group will discuss "Divine Presence in a Material World" by Michael Rea.…

14th Annual Alvin Plantinga Fellow Lecture

Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:00PM - 6:00PM DeBartolo Hall, Room 120

The 2015-2016 Alvin Plantinga Fellow, Jeffrey McDonough, will deliver the lecture entitled "Leibniz's Formal Theory of Contingency".

A reception will follow in Malloy Hall, 2nd floor lounge area. All are welcome.…

Pub Night

Thu Nov 19, 2015 7:00PM - 10:00PM Fiddler's Hearth

Hang out with philosophers at Fiddler's Hearth in downtown South Bend. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.…

Discussion Group

Fri Nov 27, 2015

No discussion group meeting due to the Thanksgiving holiday.…