Upcoming Events By year

« 2013 »

Discussion Group

Fri Feb 1, 2013

There will be no Discussion Group meeting on February 1.…

Discussion Group

Fri Feb 8, 2013 10:00AM - 11:30AM 119 O'Shaughnessy Hall

The group will discuss "On the Nature of Animal Suffering" by Faith Pawl.…

Discussion Group

Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:00AM - 11:30AM 119 O'Shaughnessy Hall

The group will discuss "Conceptual Insights from the History and Use of atheism, monotheism, and polytheism" by Carl Mosser.…

APA Central Division Meeting

Fri Feb 22, 2013 New Orleans

There will be no Discussion Group meeting due to the APA Central Division Meeting.…

Discussion Group

Fri Mar 1, 2013 10:00AM - 11:30AM 119 O'Shaughnessy Hall

The group will discuss "Wolterstorff's Theistic Grounding of Dignity and Human Rights" by Jordan Wessling.…

Discussion Group

Fri Mar 8, 2013 10:00AM - 11:30AM 119 O'Shaughnessy Hall

The group will discuss “Embodiment and the Hellenization of Christianity: The Descent of the Soul in Plato and Origen” by Peter Martens.…

Discussion Group

Fri Mar 15, 2013

There will be no Discussion Group due to spring break.…

Pub Night

Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:00PM - 10:00PM Fiddler's Hearth

Hang out with philosophers. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.

www.fiddlershearth.com…

Discussion Group

Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:00AM - 11:30AM 119 O'Shaughnessy Hall

The group will discuss "The Ethical Implications of the Passion: A Phenomenological Approach" by Wang Jue.…

Good Friday Holiday

Fri Mar 29, 2013

There will be no Discussion Group meeting due to the Good Friday holiday.…

Discussion Group

Fri Apr 5, 2013 10:00AM - 11:30AM 119 O'Shaughnessy Hall

The group will discuss "Augustinian Historical Criticism: First Approximation & Philosophical Desiderata" by Carl Mosser.…

Food for Thought

Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:30PM - 8:00PM Coleman-Morse Center, Student Lounge

"Faith, Reason, and the Knowledge of God" by Meghan Sullivan
 
Mark Twain said that "Faith is believing something you know ain't true." Is religious faith always irrational? Or can faith be based on evidence? Is it ever justifiable to believe something even if there isn't sufficient evidence? And just what is it to believe that a certain teaching or source of evidence is infallible?…

Discussion Group

Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:00AM - 11:30AM 119 O'Shaughnessy Hall

The group will discuss "Aquinas on how God causes the existence of the sinful actions of creatures without causing their sinfulness" by Gloria Frost.…

Pub Night

Thu Apr 18, 2013 7:00PM - 10:00PM Club LaSalle (located on the third floor of LaSalle Grill)

Hang out with philosophers. There will be opportunity to purchase food and drinks.

http://www.clublasalle.com/

Discussion Group

Fri Apr 19, 2013 10:00AM - 11:30AM 119 O'Shaughnessy Hall

The group will discuss "Epistemological Aspirations and Confusion among Biblical Scholars" by Carl Mosser.…