All sessions will take place in the auditorium of the Notre Dame Conference Center (McKenna Hall), with the exception of the Friday after-dinner session which will be held across the street in the William and Mary Ann Smith Ballroom at The Morris Inn.

Please note that the University of Notre Dame is in the Eastern Time Zone.

Thursday, May 24

10:00am   Welcome

10:10am - 11:20am   Teri Merrick – Azusa Pacific University
"Non-deference to Religious Authority: Epistemic Arrogance or Justice?"

11:30am - 12:40pm   Dawne Moon & Theresa W. Tobin – Marquette University
“Racialized Dynamics of Sacramental Shame in Conservative Christian Churches”

  • Commentator: Robin Dembroff – Yale University
  • Chair: Christa McKirland - University of St Andrews

12:40pm - 2:40pm   Lunch Break (on own)

2:40pm - 3:50pm   Andrea C. White – Union Theological Seminary

  • Commentator: Jill Hernandez – The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Chair: Lailatul Fitriyah – University of Notre Dame

4:00pm - 5:10pm   Sameer Yadav – Westmont College
"Race in Recent Theological Reflection: Haslangerian Social Ontology and the New Black Theology"

  • Commentator: Jonathan Russell – Chaffey College
  • Chair: Koert Verhagen – University of St Andrews

5:15pm   Bus departs the conference center to transport speakers, commentators, and chairs to the Speakers’ Dinner.

Friday, May 25

11:00am - 12:10pm    Kevin Timpe – Calvin College
"Defiant Afterlife: Disability and Uniting Ourselves to God"

12:10pm - 2:30pm   Lunch Break (on own)

2:30pm - 3:40pm   Katherine Dormandy – University of Innsbruck
"Disagreement from the Religious Margins"

3:50pm - 5:00pm   Blake Hereth – University of Washington
"Transgender Embodiment and Afterlife Justice"

  • Commentator: Craig Bacon - University of South Carolina
  • Chair: Amber L. Griffioen – University of Konstanz

5:00pm - 5:45pm   Cocktail Reception (pre-registration & payment required)
            The Morris Inn

5:45pm   Buffet Dinner (pre-registration & payment required)
            William and Mary Ann Smith Ballroom, The Morris Inn

7:00pm    Amy Peeler – Wheaton College

  • Chair: Hud Hudson – Western Washington University

(This talk is open to anyone registered for the conference, regardless of whether they registered for the dinner.)

Saturday, May 26

10:00am - 11:10am   Helen De Cruz – Oxford Brookes University
"Working on the Margins - An Experimental Study of Philosophy of Religion, Personal and Social Identity"

11:20am - 12:30pm   Joshua Luke Cockayne – University of St Andrews
                                & Jack Warman – University of York

"Shattered Faith: The Social Epistemology of Deconversion by Spiritually Violent Religious Trauma"