Science Advisory Board

The Hope-Optimism Science Advisory Board

The Hope-Optimism Science Advisory Board consists of prominent experts in the social sciences who have worked previously on hope and/or optimism. Members of the board will provide key assistance at various points during the project.

Board Members

Oliver Bennett (Professor of Sociology, University of Warwick)

Charles S. Carver (Distinguished Professor of Psychology, University of Miami)

Chris Ellison (Dean's Distinguished Professor of Sociology, University of Texas at San Antonio)

William Klein ( Associate Director, Behavioral Research Program, National Cancer Institute and Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Pittsburgh)

Judith Fitzgerald Miller (Dean and Professor of Nursing, University of Missouri, Sinclair School of Nursing)

Hirokazu Miyazaki (Professor of Anthropology, Cornell University)

David Pizarro (Associate Professor of Psychology, Cornell University)

Michael Scheier (Professor of Psychology, Carnegie Mellon University)

Anthony Scioli (Professor of Psychology, Keene State College)

Tali Sharot (director of the Affective Brain Lab and a faculty member of the department of Cognitive Perceptual and Brain Sciences at University College London)

Christian Smith (William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Sociology and Director of the Center for the Study of Religion and Society, University of Notre Dame)


For more details, please visite the project website: